P90x Training

When it comes to exercise, I haven’t always been motivated to hit the gym or even run a 5k for that matter. Enter Saatchi LA. When your boss comes to work wearing tennis shoes because he plans to go for a 20 mile run later, and your cube mate is bringing his bike to work because he plans to do a triathlon afterwards, you can’t help but wonder…”What am I missing?”

At the beginning of the year I got motivated to do a 5K…then a 10K…then before I knew it I worked my way up to doing 12 mile hill runs at Griffith Park. I started to realize what the “runners high” was all about. I got more brave and decided to train for the LA Marathon.

I started to come to terms with the fact that until I get the metal plate taken out of my foot, that Marathon I was training for was just not going to happen. Anything after 12 miles, my foot would give out and every step after that was a nightmare. So, foot surgery is going to happen this winter, but I am just not happy with doing nothing in the meantime. I started to realize not only do you get gratification with your results but you become part of a community, a community of athletes, a community of motivation and support.

So, what can I do in the meantime to stay physically fit, yet not be torturous on my foot? My uncle started doing the P90x program about 3 months ago. I have been tracking his progress as he updates on Facebook. I couldn’t help but be stunned (and inspired) by his final results of the 90 day program. He lost SIXTY pounds in 3 months and exchanged his “6 pack of beer belly” into a “6 pack of abs”. He was so impressed with the program he became a coach. The second I expressed interest at giving it a whirl, he told me all about the program.

Basically, the program is all about “muscle confusion”. By providing an extensive variety of different moves that take time to master, P90x is continually challenging the body’s muscle into new growth. The more you confuse the muscle, the harder your body has to work to keep it up. The more variety you put into your workout, the better and faster your results will be.

Ok, I can do this (hey, I can do anything for 90 days…I think).

Step one – set up profile.

Name: Regan

Gender: Female

Age: 25

Fitness Goal: Look like this…

Ok, let’s get started!

I must admit, the hardest part was actually pushing play. I have heard horror stories of people losing their lunch from working so hard, etc.

Day 1) Arms & Back + Ab Ripper

180 push ups (of multiple kinds) and 200 or so situps (some I didn’t even know existed and/or that your body could actually do), and an hour and a half later I’m done.

Lessons Learned:

1) I’m way more out of shape than I thought 2) don’t try to keep up with the super buff guys in the video, they’ve already been doing this awhile 3) clear out the dogs beforehand (rolling around the floor = play time to the pups) I spent most of my 60 second “breaks” trying to get the dogs to stop licking my face and off my back. 4) The “x” stands for “xausted”.

I felt pretty good afterwards I must say. Well, that was yesterday…

As the day goes on today, I am getting progressively more sore. Thank you Skyler for the 3 ibuprofen (I think I need one more?). Unfortunately this program takes a lot of dedication. 6 days a week and one day off. Tonight I have to accomplish plyometrics (hoping that does not involve your arms!) So you ask, why are you doing this then? It all comes back to the motivating team and support system that comes with being active. A wise man once told me (and just happens to be my boss) “pain is weakness leaving the body”… how’s that for motivating?

Dear pain, please leave soon, thanks!

Not sure if I’d make it without these words of encouragement.

Fitness goal for tonight: Just push “play”…

2 Responses to P90x Training

  1. Mike G says:

    So proud of you. I loved p90X except that the sound of Tony’s voice made me want to throw heavy objects at the TV. CONGRATS

  2. PETEMIN says:

    Ab ripper x: “I hate it, but I love it.”

Leave a Reply

